Difference between revisions of "User Modes"

From Xertion Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(Removed duplicate "sending" from No Common Channels description)
(Added a few missing usermodes, reworded intro paragraph)
Line 1: Line 1:
These are the available user modes you may set on your nickname. To set a user mode, you issue a MODE command with your nickname. For example, if your nickname was "SomeNick" and you wanted to set user mode +R on yourself, then you would type "/mode SomeNick +R". To unset that mode later, you would do "/mode SomeNick -R". Of course, these are examples - replace "SomeNick" with your own nickname when using these modes.
+
The following user modes are available for use on Xertion. To set one of these, issue a MODE command for your nickname, e.g <code>/mode YourNick +i</code> would set user mode +i for yourself (if your nickname was "YourNick"; replace with your actual nickname). To remove a usermode, use <code>/mode YourNick -(mode letter)</code>, replacing mode letter with the letter of the usermode to remove.
  
 
{{Ambox
 
{{Ambox
Line 5: Line 5:
 
|image =
 
|image =
 
|issue='''Important Note'''<br />
 
|issue='''Important Note'''<br />
|fix=Xertion network [[Staff|staff]] can always see your full hostname/IP address and whois information regardless of cloaking, and can see what channels you are in even if you hide them with usermodes +i and +I
+
|fix=[[Staff|Xertion network staff]] can always see your full hostname/IP address and whois information regardless of cloaking, and can see what channels you are in even if you hide them with usermodes +i and +I
 
}}
 
}}
  
Line 17: Line 17:
 
|-
 
|-
 
| '''c'''
 
| '''c'''
| No Common Channels
+
| Common Channels
| Prevents users from sending you private messages with no common channels.
+
| Blocks private messages from users who do not share a common channel with you.
 
|-
 
|-
 
| '''R'''
 
| '''R'''
| RegOnly
+
| Registered Only
| Only allows users who've identified to NickServ to be able to private message you.
+
| Blocks private messages from users who are not registered and identified to NickServ.
 
|-
 
|-
 
| colspan=3 style="background: white; padding-left: 1em" | Modes that add privacy
 
| colspan=3 style="background: white; padding-left: 1em" | Modes that add privacy
Line 28: Line 28:
 
| '''i'''
 
| '''i'''
 
| Invisible
 
| Invisible
| Prevents you from showing up in a wildcard <code>/who</code> command. (Automatically set on connect.)
+
| Makes you invisible in a wildcard <code>/who</code> command.
 
|-
 
|-
| '''I'''
+
| '''I''' (capital 'i')
 
| Private
 
| Private
| Hides your channels and idle time in a <code>/whois yourNick</code>.  
+
| Hides your channels and idle time in a <code>/whois</code> command.
 
|-
 
|-
 
| '''x'''
 
| '''x'''
 
| Cloaked
 
| Cloaked
| Hides part or all of your hostname. (Automatically set on connect.)
+
| Partially cloaks your hostname. This usermode is set by default on connecting users.
 
|-
 
|-
 
| colspan=3 style="background: white; padding-left: 1em" | Other user modes
 
| colspan=3 style="background: white; padding-left: 1em" | Other user modes
 
|-
 
|-
|'''w'''
+
| '''w'''
 
| Wallops
 
| Wallops
| Can receive wallops messages. These are rarely used except in cases where network services (Global) are offline. It is recommended to leave this enabled. (Automatically set on connect.)
+
| Can receive wallops messages. Xertion Network Staff use wallops messages from time to time in cases where it is either more convenient for a given situation, or network services (Global) are offline or otherwise unavailable. It is '''highly''' recommended you leave this mode set as you may miss out on important network information./
 
|-
 
|-
|'''S'''
+
| '''S'''
 
| Strip Color
 
| Strip Color
 
| Strips mIRC colour/bold/underline codes out of private messages to the user.
 
| Strips mIRC colour/bold/underline codes out of private messages to the user.
 +
|-
 +
| '''B'''
 +
| Bot Mode
 +
| Marks the user as a bot. Mostly used for XDCC bots and network service bots run by Xertion Network Staff.
 +
|-
 +
| '''G'''
 +
| User Censor
 +
| Filters your incoming private messages according to the pre-defined network list of [[Censorship list|censored words]], replacing them with <em>(censored)</em>.
 
|-
 
|-
 
| colspan=3 style="background: white; padding-left: 1em" | Modes only settable by services or servers
 
| colspan=3 style="background: white; padding-left: 1em" | Modes only settable by services or servers

Revision as of 10:49, 3 January 2017

The following user modes are available for use on Xertion. To set one of these, issue a MODE command for your nickname, e.g /mode YourNick +i would set user mode +i for yourself (if your nickname was "YourNick"; replace with your actual nickname). To remove a usermode, use /mode YourNick -(mode letter), replacing mode letter with the letter of the usermode to remove.

Flag Title Description
Modes that prevent certain messages
c Common Channels Blocks private messages from users who do not share a common channel with you.
R Registered Only Blocks private messages from users who are not registered and identified to NickServ.
Modes that add privacy
i Invisible Makes you invisible in a wildcard /who command.
I (capital 'i') Private Hides your channels and idle time in a /whois command.
x Cloaked Partially cloaks your hostname. This usermode is set by default on connecting users.
Other user modes
w Wallops Can receive wallops messages. Xertion Network Staff use wallops messages from time to time in cases where it is either more convenient for a given situation, or network services (Global) are offline or otherwise unavailable. It is highly recommended you leave this mode set as you may miss out on important network information./
S Strip Color Strips mIRC colour/bold/underline codes out of private messages to the user.
B Bot Mode Marks the user as a bot. Mostly used for XDCC bots and network service bots run by Xertion Network Staff.
G User Censor Filters your incoming private messages according to the pre-defined network list of censored words, replacing them with (censored).
Modes only settable by services or servers
r Registered Only set by services. NickServ will set this on you automatically when you successfully identify to your nickname. It cannot be set/unset except by services.